COVID-19: Saudi bans flights from UK, US, 19 other countries


Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Saudi Arabia has banned flights from 20 countries as part of efforts to curtail coronavirus infections.

The temporary suspension would be effective from 9.00 pm (1800 GMT) on Wednesday, the Interior Ministry announced.

The ban applies to neighbouring Egypt and the United Arab Emirates. Lebanon and Turkey are also affected.

In Europe, no more flights from France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Portugal, Sweden, Switzerland and the United Kingdom.

Others on the list are Argentina, Brazil, Pakistan, India, Indonesia, Japan, Pakistan, South Africa and the United States.

Saudi citizens, diplomats and health workers coming from those countries, will be allowed to enter “in accordance with the precautionary measures”.

The kingdom has reported 368,000 coronavirus cases and nearly 6,400 deaths, the highest among Gulf Arab states.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy