Tuesday, September 17, 2019
+2347060969049 teamwarritatafo@gmail.com

Five African Player of the Year facts


Five African Player of the Year facts ahead of 2017 award ceremony in Ghana Thursday:

— Ivory Coast and Manchester City midfielder Yaya Toure holds the record for consecutive victories with four from 2011.

— Cameroon have been the most successful nation with 11 first places, including four for legendary striker Samuel Eto’o.

— Former Chelsea and Ghana midfielder Michael Essien made the top three five consecutive times from 2005 without ever winning.

— Retired Cameroon star Roger Milla was the last Africa-based winner, being attached to Reunion club Saint-Denis when voted number one in 1990.

— Goalkeepers Thomas N’Kono (twice) of Cameroon and Badou Zaki of Morocco topped the poll, but no defender has been chosen Player of the Year.

Tatafo Tony
the authorTatafo Tony
A highly passionate blogger with 100% determination to succeed. Vast in blogging skills and knowledge. Dedicated to bringing you the latest in entertainment, music, videos, news and sports