Labour Party members, others defect to APC in Kwara

The House of Assembly candidates of the Labour Party in Kwara sState alongside other party stakeholders on Thursday defected to the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC).

The development came barely 48 hours to the governorship and House of Assembly elections.

Speaking with journalists in Ilorin, on Thursday, the state Secretary of Labour Party, Hon. Mohammed Ibrahim Ladan, said that some executives of the party and the House of Assembly candidates, except the party’s governorship candidate and the chairman of the party, had joined the ruling APC in the state.

Ladan said that the decision to join the APC was borne out of dividends of democracy being provided by the administration of Governor Abdulrahman Abdulrazaq, since his assumption of office three and half years ago.

He said members of the Labour Party had enjoyed major benefits of Kwara state government, adding that promises made to workers in the state civil service during the last campaign period had been fulfilled.

“This is part of the Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) signed with our former party before the 2019 general elections. This arrangement included prompt payment of workers salary, implementation of minimum wage, implementation of workers’ promotion, and a lot of projects across the 16 local government areas of the state has been a major priority of the state government in the past four years or so.

“And we believe this government can still achieve more with everybody on board to make sure this government is re-elected for sustainability of the good legacies it has built.

“In this regard, I Hon. Mohammed Ibrahim Ladan and some of our critical stakeholders and candidates defected from the Labour Party to the APC”, he said.

DAILY POST reports that the development occurred few hours after a strong opposition member and the gubernatorial candidate for the Young Progressives Party, YPP, Waziri Yakubu Gobir stepped down for the incumbent governor Abdulrahmam Abdulrazaq in the next Saturday gubernatorial and house of assembly elections.

Leave a Comment