UCL: A joke – Bellingham slams referee for allowing Havertz play penalty twice

Borussia Dortmund midfielder, Jude Bellingham has hit out at referee Danny Makkelle, for allowing Chelsea’s Kai Havertz take a penalty twice.

Bellingham described the retaken penalty, which saw his team exit the Champions League on Tuesday as a “joke.”

Raheem Sterling had given the Blues a 1-0 lead at Stamford Bridge, with the last-16 second leg poised at 1-1 on aggregate.

VAR then deemed Marius Wolf had handled Ben Chilwell’s cross in the second half.

Makkelle reviewed the incident on the pitch-side monitor and subsequently awarded a spot kick, which Havertz missed by hitting the post.

However, another VAR review found a few Dortmund players had encroached into the box before Havertz hit the ball.

This led to Makkelle ordering a retake, which the Germany striker converted to send his team into the quarterfinals by a 2-1 aggregate score.

“I’m not sure what more he can do with his hand,” Bellingham said after the match on the initial handball call.

“That in itself was disappointing and the fact that they’ve had a retake, I think it’s a joke.

“For every penalty, especially when you have such a slow run-up, there’s going to be people encroaching into the box by a yard or so. He’s made the decision and we have to live with it,” he said.

Leave a Comment